From whole chicken to my dinner plate πŸ”

On my quest of choosing to buy organic meat, I unfortunately have found out that I live in the wrong country for that, as organic anything here in the Eastern part of Germany is pretty expensive. For some reason organic chicken and especially chicken breast is just ridiculously expensive, so I had to be a little creative as always.Β πŸ€”

Without exaggerating one bit I can tell you, that 2 small organic chicken breasts cost over twice as much as a whole organic chicken which is just coo coo crazy. So, what could I do? Well, I get 4 chicken breasts, 4 thighs and 4 wings for the same price as 2 breasts if I part the chicken myself, so of course I choose to buy whole chickens, part them and freeze the individual pieces.

I bought 4 organic chickens this time and I donΒ΄t want to waste anything, so I used the carcasses to make the most amazing stock which I have frozen to make a great gravy someday. I have shown you the different stages of making the stock.

I am so lucky that my son loves the wings and thighs and I only eat the breasts, so I made some very easy oven baked chicken with seasoning and a little olive oil. As we are both huge fans of edible flowers, we bought a salat blend with flowers and I made a bulgur salad with lots of herbs, red belled pepper, cucumber, corn and red onion. As I have boiled the bulgur in stock all it needed was some olive oil and apple cider vinegar. It was a feast of a dinner! 😍

So, if you have problems finding cheap organic chicken pieces then maybe you should consider parting your own chickens. It is not difficult to learn how to part the chicken and it does not have to be perfect. If you have the energy, then please use the carcass for something as this little amazing animal has given its life to feed us and if possible, we should honor this by utilizing everything.

I hope you all have a fantastic day as always and enjoy spring with all the amazing green colors and bird songs.Β πŸŒžπŸ¦πŸ€

Leave a comment