If I choose to, my dog also has to 🐾

As I have told you, I have decided only to eat animal products from free-range or organic farms. In that process I actually forgot one important thing. The creature in our house eating the most meat is actually my dog and in my haze of trying to find places to buy organic for us humans, I forgot about him and just went on giving him what I have been giving him every day. That changed the day I run out of dog food and had to order more and thought HEY, of course his food has to be organic too. 🤩

So, here I went again. Now I had to find suitable food for him, both dry and wet food, and I thought how hard can it be? Well, not as easy as I had hoped. 😜 As with all dog food, they fill it with grains and he does not need a diet full of grains, so I tried finding food without grains. He is a small breed, he is pretty old, he has no teeth and of course I don´t have millions to use, so I had to put on my Sherlock Holmes hat again. Fortunately, my dear Gucci only weighs 3.2 kilos and eats very little, so he is not a big expense. But if I had had a bigger dog, it wouldn´t change my decision anyway.

As I also want to think about the environment, I have chosen dog food mostly with poultry and fish as these are pretty CO2 friendly, and the wet food is all grain free. I haven´t really been giving my dog wet food for very long, but he is now 10 years and unfortunately just had all of his teeth pulled out, so I thought I would spoil this little cutie for the rest of his few years and give him some yummie paté daily together with some softened dry food. Even though the organic wet food is pretty pricy, he eats very little and it ends up costing me around 1.3 dollars per day + dry food, so it is affordable.

So, this was a little something I had forgotten in my quest of choosing organic and trying to make my own little difference in the world, and for dry dog food the price is not extremely higher than non-organic, so this is a change that most of us can afford. Sometimes we just forget that it is possible, like I forgot 😉 But that is the great thing about us people. We learn every single day, we evolve and we all have the possibility of making a change in our own small ways. We don´t have to save the entire planet ourselves, but every little improvement and conscious decision makes a big difference 🥰

Have a fantastic and postive day all you lovely people around the world ❤️

Leave a comment